Posted by: Nancy Brown | December 25, 2006

On this Christmas Eve

As this Holiday season is quickly approaching I find myself reflecting on all the things that have gone on around me this year. The friends that I have made, the milestones reached, the milestones others have not made and for the “abilities” so many show around us.

In 2002 I was serving and LDS mission in Indiana. I remember that month and time of year so vividly. I was serving in South Bend. It was a  cold bitter place. But it was amazing. The ward was amazing. The people had such a spirit. We ( my companion and I) had so many offers to make our holiday wonderful.  We went to the Basilica at the University of Notre Dame to listen to a concert on the Sunday before Christmas. It was amazing. The lights, the sounds and the Spirit of Christmas was nothing I had ever felt before. 

I went on exchanges to the next town of Goshen of Christmas Eve. In Goshen I met my other half. My best friend Charly was serving there. We had a great day of tracting and then we went to a Christmas party of the Luke’s. There was most of the ward there and it was so much fun. We all talked and laughed and most of all felt the spirit of Christmas.

We went Caroling right after and it started to snow. It was such a picturesque time. Just like the postcards. It was so sureal. I had so much fun and yet I knew I would be heading back to South Bend the next day.

The snow continued through the night and when we woke up the next morning it was all covered in snow. The snow fall was about 2 feet. It was such a sight.  We drove to the next town and opened presents. We went home and we talked to our parents.

That was a Christmas I never could forget nor would I want to. I thought it would be the only Christmas where gifts didn’t mean anything. But then last Christmas happened.  Gifts meant nothing.

Last year we were brand new parents enjoying the smell of a new baby. Loving him and holding him and rocking him was the most perfect present in the whole world. It meant more to me to have him under my tree than anything money could buy. Because of the circumstances of our life and finances we had a very small amount of presents for each of us and we opened them with excitment but nothing was more exciting than the miracle we held all day.

Now this year has come around and we are able to buy more gifts and to give more to those around us but it is the love and the miracles that we have witnessed that has made this Christmas. I can’t express the love that I have for Dallas and for the kindness and love and kindness he showers me with every day. For the gentleness he shows me and Tyler and for the love that he has for us.

The love that I have for my miracle, Tyler, is more than I can express in words. Without him and Dallas I would be lost. Tyler has reminded me of all the things I learend about the Savior as a missionary and has brought up some feelings I haven’t had since then. The miracle of his life and the miracle that he has shown us in his determination.

Last is the testiomony that I have of our Savior.  He is the reason for the season. He has brought to this earth the Priesthood and restored the Gospel. It is such a gift and the reason that Tyler is here.  I know that the teachings of the church are true and that Jesus is the Christ. My testimony is best summed up with these words of the Prophet Pres. Hinckley.

He whose birth we commemorate this season is more than the symbol of a holiday. He is the Son of God, the Creator of the earth, the Jehovah of the Old Testament, the fulfillment of the Law of Moses, the Redeemer of mankind, the King of Kings, the Prince of Peace. . . . ” ‘And now, after the many testimonies which have been given of him, this is the testimony, last of all, which we give of him: That he lives! ‘For we saw him, even on the right hand of God; and we heard the voice bearing record that he is the Only Begotten of the Father– ‘That by him, and through him, and of him, the worlds are and were created, and the inhabitants thereof are begotten sons and daughters unto God.’ (D&C 76:22-24)

“This is our testimony to all mankind. It is our gift and blessing to the world. He is our joy and our salvation, and we will find Christmas of greater meaning in our own lives as we share these truths with others.

“What shall we do with Jesus who is called Christ? Learn of him. Search the scriptures for they are they which testify of him. Ponder the miracle of his life and mission. Try a little more diligently to follow his example and observe his teachings. Bring the Christ back into Christmas.”(Gordon B. Hinckley, “What Shall I Do Then with Jesus Which Is Called Christ?” Ensign, Dec. 1983, 5)

Responses

  1. I am glad that Tyler is home and happy. What a neat Christmas to be able to bring your baby home.

    I marvel at new parents who can just bring their baby home the next day after they are born. In the joy of the newness of their addition, I really wonder if they have an idea…of what a miracle it is.

    Life goes on all around us, and miracles happen every day. I am grateful for my experience with Ethan, for the doors it has opened for me. For being really aware of this existance and for being able to have a clear vision of our Saviors love. I am so glad that through out this, I have been able to get to know you.

    I hope you have a wonderful holiday season, and that 2007, will be the best year for you yet!


Leave a Reply

Categories

