Posted by: Nancy Brown | January 27, 2007

Thanks for the umbrella!?!

It seems that in the fun thing that we call life there are bumps in the road that cause us to get into some NASTY weather. It seems when those bumps are HIGH and you are in the sky… No big deal. When you hit the plains…. it pours.

Please don’t take this as crying or complaining. Wait till the end of the post. So most of you know that Tyler is in need of a cranial reconstruction. Its not a fun surgery. Some say I am selfish for saving him to start but now with all his pain and suffering I should be ashamed. But I am not. I personally think that he is a miracle and I know that  many others think so as well.  So that was kinda the slope. We were at the top.. things were going good. But then the rain started.

Dallas had an interview in Arizona. Went great. We are on the last part of that. We are just hoping that they understand our circumstances of the past 2 years so that they can see what they are looking at. * kinda a private matter* email if you want more info. So that was kinda the rain on our way down this little bump if you will.

Today my car got towed by an old man that has nothing better to do than to be a jerk and walk around and hand out stickers. For some reason I didn’t follow my gut instinct and remember to go out and move my car late last night from the visitor  parking. It was my fault but it was not the right time to start enforcing a law or rule. But whatever… so since I had no idea that it was towed it is after hours so unless we want to pay over 200 bucks then we are SOL till Monday. Even on Monday it is 151. Oh, did I mention we just don’t have it and we don’t get paid till next week.  We kinda slid down a little further into our hole.

Then, as we have been trying to get the surgery scheduled I have spent hours on the phone with Plastic surgery and neurosurgery trying to explain that my son is SYMPTOMATIC…. AKA in pain. He cries all the time and he needs to have valium at night to relax him enough to sleep. We can’t wait till March 23 like they say.

Apparently, the neurosurgeon nurse hates me and she won’t relay the info to the correct people. Plastics said March because they didn’t get that we were already  sick. ALL DAY it took me to get the correct info and a closer date set.

So that was the rain on my parade. It felt like a flash flood. I threw stuff against the wall, tried to slam doors but couldn’t. It sucked.

Oh.. did I mention that Ty fell out of his crib. And Dallas is sick. He has been for a few days. He has also just felt crappy basically for a week and there is nothing I can do. I think its stress but I still want to fix it.

So.. that is the bad stuff. I have to find some good. So……

My mom mentioned at Christmas a novel about the Willie Handcart company. I decided that I would really like to read that and the Work and the glory. So I read the Work and the Glory first. Great book. Cute love story. Started the Fire and the Covenant.

Small recap for those who are not LDS that read this. The handcart company was a group of pioneers that walked across the plains into SLC. They left late in the season and SLC didn’t know they were coming. Long story short… it was a disaster and one of the worst ones in history of the Church.

So I am reading this  book. Their life sucked. They were not country people they were from England and Scotland. They had not worked hard like that. They didnt’ have enough food, it got colder faster than expected and they didn’t have the supply that they needed. They had to give up ALL the things that they felt were important possesions. They could only take 17 pounds of their own stuff. 

I don’t have to live a life like that. How amazing is that? Yes, I have trials and they are so not fun. In fact I have spent the better part of the week crying. And I am sure when the surgery comes about i will cry more but I don’t have it so bad.

One of the many stories regarding that fateful handcart company…

Some years ago President David O. McKay (1873–1970) told of the experience of some of those in the Martin handcart company. Many of these early converts had emigrated from Europe and were too poor to buy oxen or horses and a wagon. They were forced by their poverty to pull handcarts containing all of their belongings across the plains by their own brute strength. President McKay related an occurrence which took place some years after the heroic exodus:

“A teacher, conducting a class, said it was unwise ever to attempt, even to permit them [the Martin handcart company] to come across the plains under such conditions.”

Then President McKay quoted an observer who was present in that class: “Some sharp criticism of the Church and its leaders was being indulged in for permitting any company of converts to venture across the plains with no more supplies or protection than a handcart caravan afforded.

“An old man in the corner … sat silent and listened as long as he could stand it, then he arose and said things that no person who heard him will ever forget. His face was white with emotion, yet he spoke calmly, deliberately, but with great earnestness and sincerity.

“In substance [he] said, ‘I ask you to stop this criticism. You are discussing a matter you know nothing about. Cold historic facts mean nothing here, for they give no proper interpretation of the questions involved. Mistake to send the Handcart Company out so late in the season? Yes. But I was in that company and my wife was in it and Sister Nellie Unthank whom you have cited was there, too. We suffered beyond anything you can imagine and many died of exposure and starvation, but did you ever hear a survivor of that company utter a word of criticism? …

“ ‘I have pulled my handcart when I was so weak and weary from illness and lack of food that I could hardly put one foot ahead of the other. I have looked ahead and seen a patch of sand or a hill slope and I have said, I can go only that far and there I must give up, for I cannot pull the load through it.’ ”

He continues: “ ‘I have gone on to that sand and when I reached it, the cart began pushing me. I have looked back many times to see who was pushing my cart, but my eyes saw no one. I knew then that the angels of God were there.

“ ‘Was I sorry that I chose to come by handcart? No. Neither then nor any minute of my life since. The price we paid to become acquainted with God was a privilege to pay, and I am thankful that I was privileged to come in the Martin Handcart Company.’ ” 1

I have been trying to become how I was on my mission. I read from my scriptures everyday. I only saw and did righteous things. Its harder now that I am here but I can do it. I want that refiners fire. I am to the point now that I need the cart to push me. Both of us do.

We will get through this storm… we will!!!

Responses

  1. Very good prospective.

    It’s a hard one sometimes, when it seems like everything around us has gone pear-shaped.

    You’ll be in my prayers, and please let me know what I could do to helP!

  2. Hang in there, easier said than done I know, you are oh so right, when it rain it pours…


Leave a Reply

Categories

